There are Thirteen Ways to Look at a Blackbird

Sideways stranger and solitary dweller pauses at my knee
I don’t move either from my cliffside seat
Awareness, yes, I’m on the verge of acknowledgement,
Of an amorphous, achromatic avian
Apathy
Therein begets a sight
Shallow
Surficial, skin-deep, skeletal even,
Crown to throat, animated in tick-like pivots
Curves to breast then flank
The secondary and tertiary feathers fold stacked
Anatomy
How can bones measure in so few millimeters?
Can a skull so fragile hold anything other than feebleness?
Pity
Born from perceived inferiority
Closeness
Familiarity follows prolonged proximity
Fancy
And certainly the list must be short
Of others the bird has ventured so close to?
Mustn’t it?
Me
Imagined scenarios of an animal
Formulating an assessment of me
It feels drawn too
Bonded
A distaste between us–there can’t exist any
Maybe
There is
Why couldn’t it?
Why wouldn’t it?
Who am I to be so unenlightened?
My skull, not the blackbird’s, is vacant
I’m unable to communicate with its
Telepathy
So many messages brought
Pointless for my deaf sensibilities
Tragic
That there is no rewiring to make the language compatible
Here I’ll remain
Undone, untouched and unwise
He flees then flies
After his beak pinches a french fry
That’d been stuck to my thigh

43 thoughts on “There are Thirteen Ways to Look at a Blackbird

Add yours

      1. It sure did, I loved it!! All of it!! I mean, I totally pictured you laughing as you wrote it haha but if I were you I would first be feeling a little awesome about myself for writing everything preceding it lol.
        And you are always welcome! My pleasure! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I befriended a blackbird once, and he got so friendly that he’d sit close by and sing. I’d give him food, and he’d blink at me; staring as he ate the scraps — suspicious always. Once he came by, and I had not a crumb of food. He must’ve taken it as an insult for he crapped as he flew off and nearly got my head. I considered myself lucky.

    You write well. Words flow in earnest energy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Glad it entertained. Appreciate you asking about the line bc it’s good feedback. Yes I did mean too as in the bird and the speaker are curious about each other (Or so she/he thinks) but yeah the line is confusing. I experimented a few times with writing a poem super fast just to see what would come out. I’m still not sure how it went but I don’t think it’s horrid. Not great either when a writer puts too little time and thought into something. I’ll probably switch back to flash fic soon. Thanks for reading. I appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑